January 15, 2012 2:33:28 PM

Im currently building a computer. I have:

i7-2600k(H80)
Asus sabertooth p67 (with assistfan)
1000w powersupply
60gb ssd
360 gb hdd
GT 520 1gb (for now)

The question i have is should i buy 2 x 560ti's to sli or just buy a 580 or just wait for the 760ti or greater when it comes out dependent on price of the new cards(my budget is 250-350 area for a single card)

More about : graphics card dillema

Related resources
January 15, 2012 3:43:24 PM

Im not fully against amd. This is my first build and i just really want nvidia. All my friends have amd but they choose amd purely on price and idc about the price i just want the best for my computer. So anything that would help with that. Like where could i get the best Nvidia performance and beat most other cards amd included?
m
l

Best solution

a c 171 Î Nvidia
a c 271 U Graphics card
January 15, 2012 3:47:43 PM

jemm said:
2 x 560ti's will performance better than a single 580, however you can expect some issues related to SLI, for instance, micro-stuttering.

The price will be around the same:

580 http://stores.tomshardware.com/search_getprod.php/maste...

560ti http://stores.tomshardware.com/search_getprod.php/maste...

I´d get a single 580 for now, then a future SLI.

Another one spouting the same old tosh! :pfff: 

FYI I run SLi'd GTX560Ti's and microstuttering doesn't exist!
a b Î Nvidia
a c 105 U Graphics card
January 15, 2012 3:49:24 PM

I agree with the 580. the numbers might look good but the cards are completely different. There's only one real option.
m
l
January 15, 2012 3:53:05 PM

So what about the new cards that are suppose to come out? i have a card to hold me off till then and i can save my money would you recommend i wait or act on the 500 series?
m
l
a c 171 Î Nvidia
a c 271 U Graphics card
January 15, 2012 3:56:27 PM

Do you have the patience to wait for a couple of months?
m
l
a b Î Nvidia
a c 105 U Graphics card
January 15, 2012 3:57:15 PM