First-time build of HTPC/Office PC, advice needed!

edvardasm

Honorable
Mar 21, 2012
Hey guys!

I am relatively new in this "build your own" machine area, therefore I'd be glad if you advised me on a few choices.
I have decided to build a small form factor (sort of HTPC) pc for my everyday needs. My needs don't involve any gaming or other power hungry operations.
It's mainly office work, some statistics apps, movies, music, usage of photo editing apps from time to time.
I've made a research and chose the parts that I believe should fit together, however, after reading multiple entries on on PSU and heating issues, I have got concerns over my system now...

So here's the list (I have all the rest such as monitor, peripherals, speakers):

Case - Streacom FC8 Fanless Chassis (with passive heatpipe, for TDP up to 65W)
Power Supply - Streacom PicoPsu 150W + 150W Adapter Power Kit (smaller ones have 10 pins, while this on is 12)
Motherboard - Zotac H61-ITX-A-E or Asus P8H61-I
CPU - Intel Core i5 2405S (65W, graphics Intel HD 3000)
RAM - Patriot G2 2x4GB (PGD38G1333ELK)
HDD SDD (internal) - Patriot Torqx 2 32GB
HDD (external) - anything between 1 to 2TB...

There's an option to choose a different case that requires active cooling, so I could use the CPU cooler provided with the CPU itself.
Although, my concern is if this passive cooling will be able to cool down the CPU properly? It does match the TDP requirements...
If not recommended, then maybe choose the i5 2500K and install active system? Then, however, I have concerns about the PicoPSU power.
As seen from above, I have not included a graphics card, which I believe is not needed for my needs, or? I would really appreciate if anyone could help me out here. Thanks!

TeraMedia

Distinguished
Jan 26, 2006
I concur with not using a discrete GPU: for your intended use it is not necessary. That would complicate your power budget and cooling solution anyway, nevermind the resulting noise.