Closed Solved

My PC and gaming

Dear tom's hardware community,

I have a dilemma concerning my pc . About 2 years ago i got a desktop computer (click for specs)for my birthday. As you can see, it is a pretty weak rig. It has an Hd5450 512mb video card which can only run certain games and an AMD Phenom II X4 810 2.6GHz Processor. I am tired of not being able to play the latest first person shooters( i only have a wii), so i decided to upgrade my PC. I plan on getting a gtx 560 graphics card and obviously a PSU with over 500 watts. My questions are. Is it possible for that GTX 560 to fit in my computer? If it will fit, will i bottle neck my PC with my weak CPU? Will i be able to run Battlefield 3 on medium settings 50+ fps on a resolution of 1600 x 900?

Thank you for your time and please feel free to suggest. I cannot built a new pc because i am currently in last year high school and im still looking for a job. I might get one at Micky D's :).

Sorry if this is on the wrong forum. I am new here and this topic has a little bit of every category in it.
17 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about gaming
  1. AMD 6870 : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814161389

and

CX500 : http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139027

is what you should get. Will easily handle BF3 on high without AA at 1600x900.

See you on the battlefield ;)

Edit : the 560 ti is a better card but since you're gaming in 1600x900 and probably can't overclock your CPU I think the 6870 would be a better bang for your buck.
  2. Thank you, im just afraid my CPU at 2.6ghz will cause a problem. I was just watching a benchmark of battlefield with this card(http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pQU2sfDcHiM) and he is running at 100fps+ however he has a 6 core processsor overclocked at 3.6ghz...
  3. BF3 is a well optimized game and mostly relies on your GPU, your CPU will have no trouble handling it.
  4. Thank you again. Ill probably get what you have recommended :)