Sign in with
Your question

New build issues

Last response: in Systems
March 22, 2012 8:17:18 PM

Hello,
First off let me say that I am no pro but I have built a few better than average gaming systems before. I'm currently attempting to start up a new build for a friend of mine and its not going well at all. To start with I'll list all of the components that I helped my buddy pick out and order form newegg. AMD FX quad core 3.6GHz CPU w/ stock heat sync & fan, Gigabyte 990FXA-UD3 mobo, 8GB92x$GB)Kingston Hyper X RAM, Antec EA-750/900 green power supply, Seagate 250 GB HDD w/ nothing on it, Asus cd/dvd drive, MSI R6770 MDIGD5 1GB GDDR5 video card & a Rosewell Destroyer case. I have the same case for my personal desktop as well as a Gigabyte mobo and the MSI radeon series video card. basicly building a newer stepped up version of my own computer that works smoothly 24/7. All components went together smoothly, I am familiar with the case so it was pretty quick as well. When I went to power up the unit expecting to listen for POST beep codes if there was a hardware problem followed by BIOS starting up I was surprised to hear nothing but the power unit fan, 3 case fans, cpu cooling fan, and lights come up on the LED lit fans. So I have power & no video output to see if Bios is starting up or not. So I started checking video card to make sure 6 pin connector is connected , it was. I checked the mobo P1 main 24 pin power suply, and the P2 4/8 pin power connectors. I had all 8 plugged in at this time. Checked to make sure Ram was seated and in the proper RAM slots 1 & 2 rather than 3 & 4. power cycled the computer after about a minute. I have checked and rechecked everything 3 times now and simply am stumped. I work at a data center managing over 800 servers a day, tier 1 -3 help desk 5 days a week. I build them, take them apart and configure windows, Linux & Mac OS's systems as well as the switches and routers that connect them all. This is a simple window & x 64 install