Looking for some advice

simplestudent

Distinguished
Nov 18, 2011
Hello Tom's Hardware Community,

I'm still a newbie when it comes to the specs and compatitiblity of devices. I'm currently in the market for building a new system. My budget is roughly around $1,500. I will be using this system for some gaming such as Diablo 3 and MMOs. I'm wishing to make this a dual monitor set up simply because I have the screens.

I'm looking to use this as my primary screen.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16824001405

and this as my secondary
http://shopping.yahoo.com/65085543-samsung-ln26a450c1dxza-television/

both of which I plan on putting on this once it is in stock again.
http://www.tykesupply.com/Products-Dual_Monitor_Stand_Free_Standing_Curved_Arm.html

These are the items I have chosen so far. Please keep in mind nothing is set in stone and any suggestions I would greatly appreciate.

http://pcpartpicker.com/p/5hPW

For a processor I am looking at the Amd fx-6200 or the AMD fx-8150.

Could you help me fill in the blanks? Thanks again for any suggestions or comments you may have.

g-unit1111

Titan
If you can go Intel I highly recommend going Intel over any AMD build right now. I'm posting from my phone so I can't post links until I get back to my laptop but the FX-8150 is beaten by even the lowest end Pentium G620 - if you go with an i5-2500K and a GTX 680 or Radeon 7970 on a $1500 budget it will be an unbelievably killer system.

Here's a build I typically recommend (sans links :lol: ) :

Case: Corsair Carbide 400R
PSU: Seasonic X750 Gold
Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-Z68XP-UD3H
CPU: 3.30 GHZ Intel Core i5-2500K
Cooler: Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
RAM: Crucial Ballistix 8GB 1600 MHZ 1.5V
SSD: 128 GB Crucial M4
HD: Samsung Ecogreen F4 2TB
Optical: Lite On DVD Burner
Video Card: EVGA Geforce GTX 680

Total: $1400 (approx)