Sign in with
Your question

Need a good budget card. Plz help.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 17, 2012 1:50:16 PM

First off I am new to upgrading and the community here.

2nd. I bought a card previously, that I thought was a good card but it wasn't (Radeon HD 5450 2 gig)

System Specs:

Intel Core 2 Duo CPU E7500 2.93/2.94 GHz
8 Gigs of RAM
500 Watt P.S.
I'm using my 37 inch flatscreen 1080p Vizio as a monitor.
HAD a Radeon HD5450 graphics card.

Ran everything fine but it couldn't handle SWTOR.

So my friend gave me his old Nvidia GTX 260 and it seems to be much better.

However, it doesn't have HDMI and it's almost near impossible to find a good res. to fit the screen and without being blurry or stretched

I was looking more towards the Nvidia GTX 460 as a budget card for now. They did a review in the November section of last year and said it was around $160 and that it was a 256 bit.

I know nothing about graphics cards. ALL the GTX 460s that I've seen in that price range are only 192 bit except for this
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/ite...

I've found some EVGA ones for $20 or so cheaper and I hear they are a good brand. But even still, those are only 192 bit.

Can someone please point me in the right direction here? I prefer Nvidia and is it going to matter if I get a 460 192 bit vs. a 256 bit? What's the difference?

Also I'm looking at the $160 -180 price range

Thanks

More about : good budget card plz

Related resources
January 17, 2012 2:18:37 PM

If your willing to spend an extra $20, you'd get a really nice card and it would last longer.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...