Sign in with
Your question
Solved

A better CPU for architectural renderings

Last response: in CPUs
July 7, 2012 2:45:37 AM

Hello guys, currently I'm trying to build a computer for school. With my budget limitation, I can afford an entry level i7 core, like Core i7 2600k and Core i7 3770k. I'm kinda a noob on CPUs. Therefore I'm here looking for some help.

I'm an architecture student. Required heavy 3D modeling work and renderings, using Rhino for 3D and VRay for rendering. If you guys have any suggestions for me on the CPU choices, I'd be very happy to listen.

Also, for my graphic cards, I have narrowed down my choices to GTX 570 and HD 7850. The two cards are similar, but 7850 have 2GB vram vs. 570 only has 1.2 GB. Therefore, my question is the extra 0.8 GB will help me a lot on the 3D modeling process and rendering time?

Thank you!
a b à CPUs
July 7, 2012 3:04:59 AM

those are the top end i7s... not entry level.

Best solution

July 7, 2012 3:05:03 AM

The 7850 is a little better way to go since theyre a little cheaper but you can overclock them pretty easy and theyll perform very well. More of a toss up really between the two as theyre both excellent and perform almost the same. Id say get the one you can get the best deal on.

As for processor, if you cant afford the i7, how about the i5? The i5-3570K is $230 at Newegg which is $100 cheaper than its big brother. If you can swing that, that would definitely be a great way to go as its a beast of a processor.

If you do not want or intend to do any overclocking, you can move down to the non-K series procs which will be even cheaper.
Related resources
a b à CPUs
July 7, 2012 3:24:19 AM

Go with the i7 2600 non k, a Z68 chipset motherboard and the AMD 7850 GPU. Your needs also requires at least 8GB of ram or more.
a b à CPUs
July 7, 2012 3:46:06 AM

Hi :) 

You realise that some top end cad programs need pro level graphics cards to run ??

And I dont mean those gaming cards you mentioned...