Sign in with
Your question

Exhaust Fan Help

Last response: in Systems
March 25, 2012 6:40:45 PM

Hi Guy's,

I have a Coolermaster CM 830 Stacker which originally housed a 9800GX2 a few years ago, and I had a friend of mine build it.

The problem I have is that on the rear exhaust fan, he stripped 2 screws, and the other 2 are so tight, I cannot undo them LOL!!

I need some advice concerning "drilling out" the screws, as I have now overclocked my rig, I am getting in the region of around 80 to 83 degrees on my 7970, and I feel thats too high.

I have bought some Scythe 4250 RPM fans and wanted to fit one of those at the exhaust port.

Can anyone please give some advice as to how to go about drilling out these fan screws? I do not own nor know anyone who owns a Dremmel as handy as they obviously are, and I will not be buying one for the sake of this one scenario as I am not in the habit of cutting out side panel windows, or designing my own cases LOL!!! as I will have no further use for it afterwards.

I do have a regular drill, and would appreciate the steps and drill bit size necessary to get rid of these little B@?~*%$£!!!

Many thanks for any advice offered!!

More about : exhaust fan

a c 78 B Homebuilt system
March 25, 2012 7:45:15 PM

If I were you, I would just get a new case. The stacker isn't very 2012 to begin with.

Just leave the fan that is in there in there and throw both in the trash.

Well, you could just whatever drill bit you want with that as the alternative. If you can save the fan cool and if not then oh well, you can get a good 120 mm fan for like $5 anyway.

If you are going to use a 7970 that costs like $550, you can probably afford to suck up the replacement cost of that fan.

If you get a HAF 912 or 922 instead, your PC will just work a whole lot better.

I can't in good conscience advise someone to insert a 7970 into any case with a top mounted PSU in it.
March 25, 2012 8:12:05 PM

Hi Raiddinn,