Creating LAN gaming system for deployment.

dpow86

Honorable
Mar 26, 2012
Greetings sentient beings.
I serve aboard the USS Harry S Truman and I am interested in undertaking a project, but I need a bit of help first.
During deployments people get bored. A great way to combat boredom is to play games. But there's no active LAN on board to connect to, and play on.
So I'm interested in creating one!
BUT. I am a bit stumped at how to do this.
What my goal is:
Use my computer as a game server for randomly selected games.
Allow others interested in playing, come down to the space I am at, connect to the server and play against others.

I am unsure how to physically make this happen.
I have very little experience in the networking side of computers.

Is it possible to run a router off my computer to allow those with wireless capability to connect?
And for the ones that aren't, how does a switch tie into this? As I understand switches are far more user friendly than routers.

Thanks!

striker410

Distinguished
Hi, Welcome to the forums.

It sounds like what you are trying to do is create a network to allow LAN gaming to happen. That's a fairly simple task, albeit one I haven't had the luxury of experimenting with.

I'll answer your question first.
Yes, it is completely possible to set up a wireless network without an internet connection. It's quite simple, most routers will guide you through the setup. I wouldn't bother with switches or hubs, just pick up a basic wireless router.

Now, here's a short synopsis of how it would be done.

The first thing you'll need (obviously) is a router. Wireless would be a good idea as most routers are limited to 4 computers through wired connections. Set up your router following the on-screen instructions.