Rather new, looking for opinions on this..

Deke866

Honorable
Mar 26, 2012
So, as mentioned ^ up there, I'm pretty new in the way of ordering parts and building my own pc. Short and sweet, my budget was supposed to be 600, but it's now 700 ( give or take 20 bucks or so ). Here's what I put together http://amzn.com/w/1NCKN695YEO1J
I want this to be decent/good/great for gaming. Looking for information about flaws/strengths in what I have, and suggestions perhaps, thanks

g-unit1111

Titan
It's a good start but I wouldn't recommend H61 on any build because the reduced functionality and limited expansion will be incredibly frustrating in the long run. Not to mention most Z68 motherboards don't have a dedicated X16 lane which would make any high end video cards you plan to use later on moot.

Here's a >=$700 build that I typically recommend:

Case: Cooler Master HAF 912 - $59.99 ($10.00 MIR)
PSU: Corsair CX600 V2 - $69.99 ($20.00 MIR)
Motherboard: Asrock Z68 Extreme 3 Gen 3 - $121.99
CPU: 3.1GHz Intel Core i5-2400 - $189.99
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw X 8GB 1600MHz 1.5V - $46.99
HD: 500GB Western Digital Caviar Blue - $84.99
Optical: Lite On DVD Burner - $17.99
Video Card: Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 - $149.99 ($15.00 MIR)

Total: $741.92 - $45.00 MIR = $696.92

With this build - you get more RAM, a better PSU, a true Z68 motherboard with upgrade ability to Ivy Bridge and PCI Gen 3 video cards, and you also get the awesome budget-minded Core i5-2400.

Deke866

Honorable
Mar 26, 2012
I reposted with a more straightforward title, guess that wasnt necessary. Thanks for the reply first of all. I had the 6870, how far behind is the 6850? I'm looking to play BF3/Guild Wars 2 when it launches, not that Guild Wars is very demanding..

g-unit1111

Titan

They're about the same card performance wise. A 6870 will not that make that much of a dent in your budget if you want to get one, otherwise I'd say if you could get a 7850 that would be ideal.

obsama1

Distinguished

Deke866

Honorable