Sign in with
Your question

Budget PC

Last response: in Systems
March 27, 2012 6:14:23 AM

Hey all! This will be my first build. So I'm quite new to this whole PC building thing.

Anyways I'll jump into it.

My budget its about 300 - 400 CAD (tax included).

I plan on re-using as much parts from my old machine as possible, this includes random parts I have laying around from other PC's I have.

Things that will be re-used are monitor, keyboard, mouse, HDD. The HDD that I'll be re-using is 250 GB.
The PC being "recycled" is an old Dell Dimension 3100.
I'll also be buying a SATA DVD drive from my brother.
I also plan on using the version of XP Pro that came with the machine, I have a Key and CD though whether this will work or not I'm not entirely sure I don't see why not seeing as every time I do a format/fresh install I have to manually install all the needed drivers.

Currently what I want to gain from this pc is just better performance to play a *bit* of games. By games I don't mean today's hot new releases. In fact, this will probably be used for a lot of legacy games. Along with Minecraft, WoW, and D3.
EDIT/ I should also mention that it will be used for such programs as photoshop CS5, I've been unable to jump up from CS3 because of this Dell. CS5 never worked properly and was a large waste of money.

What I have laid out for the machine currently are these parts:
AMD A6-3650 Llano 2.6 Ghz
ASUS F1A55-M
Team Elite 8GB (2 x 4GB)
Rosewill R519-BK Case w/500W PSU

From my small knowledge it seems that everything will work out quite nicely. Though what I'm un-sure about is the use of the AMD A6 with the ASUS mobo. Will the included CPU Cooler get in the way of the RAM Slots?