Your question
Solved

Brand New Builder, Want Cool Gaming System $1500+

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
March 27, 2012 7:15:14 AM

New to this forum, but I am looking for help on building a new computer (because that's what everyone says to do instead of Alienware :p  )
I've never built before, but ready to give it a shot. I will just be building the computer as I have the keyboard, mouse, monitor and speakers. Other than Windows 7, I have no need of other software.

I am looking for a cost anywhere between $1500 and $2000.
The most important things to me are speed of regular use (surfing internet, running programs), gaming performance, and a computer that will last.
I use my computer mainly for gaming/internet. I'd love to be able to run games on max visual settings. (The game I am playing now is Star Wars The Old Republic)

Approximate Purchase Date: Next 2 weeks

Budget Range: 1500-2000 before rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming/surfing web

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: No preference, I've been using newegg

Parts Preferences: Intel, Cool looking case :p 

Overclocking: Maybe... I would do it but I do not know how

SLI or Crossfire: If it makes sense in the budget, yes

Monitor Resolution: Currently running 1680x1050

Additional Comments: Would prefer a quiet PC (Very interested in liquid cooling, is this a good option?

I stole the $1500 build from the recommended forum: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/332962-31-recommended...

https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.as...

Case : COOLER MASTER HAF 922

Motherboard : GIGABYTE GA-Z68XP-UD3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX

RAM : Patriot Signature 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600

CPU : Intel Core I5-2500K (OC for best performance)

CPU Cooler : COOLER MASTER Hyper 212 EVO RR-212E-20PK-R2 Continuous Direct Contact 120mm Sleeve CPU Cooler