Radeon 6870 vs GTX 560

Status
Not open for further replies.

0veruler

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
Howdy, I have decent experience in building computers, I'm a college student in the IT field and I'm gunning for my first full build!
I am aiming for this to be a gaming computer, and want to spend under 200 for the graphics card. Unfortunately here at tom's hardware these two have tied!
I'm really torn between the two and figured this is a matter of preference, but just what do you experienced types believe to be the better card?
I can get the Radeon for slightly cheaper (170 after MIR)
as opposed to the GTX (175 after MIR)
The GTX has better scores in benchmarking and Framerates, but from what I've seen looking over forums more often then not people tend to pick Radeon!

Any insight on this would be great!
Thanks in advance!

The rest of my build will go something along the lines of an i5-2400 cpu, I'd like to get a full tower case.. 8gb of ram a SSD and probably a Gigabyte board

I'm almost considering giving in and spending the extra 50-60 buck to get a Radeon 6950..

Solution
You can always get one of the factory overclocked cards and not have to worry about overclocking yourself.

If it's between a stock clocked 560 vs. 6870, the performance will be very close and depend on the games you are playing.

The 560 Ti is a very worthy consideration to put you up towards the upper echelon of graphics cards. A factory overclocked 560 Ti can do just about anything you want.

sunnk

Distinguished
yeah the radeon will be cheaper and better in performance of gaming and the fps is almost same as the refillable said listen to him and me and go for the hd 6870 and that 50-60 bucks keep it with you when the new cards will arrive then buy a new one but for now the hd 6870 is the best choice can run skyrim very well at 1080p.:)

0veruler

Distinguished
Jan 21, 2012
Great thanks for the quick replys!
The skyrim bit was much appreciated :) haha