Sign in with
Your question
Solved

New CPU in old Mobo?

Last response: in CPUs
July 12, 2012 2:06:12 AM

I have a Foxconn A76ML-K that i've been using since 2009 and I want to buy an AMD Phenom II X4 955 and put it in there.
The mobo is rated for a 95 watt CPU and i put a 125 watt Athlon in it when I built the PC. Apparently the mobo is AM3 ready, and I found the BIOS update for it. I'm just wondering if it will be compatible, I guess I don't see why it wouldn't accept the Phenom, besides it being too old for a new processor.
My Motherboard
Processor I want to buy.

More about : cpu mobo

a b à CPUs
July 12, 2012 2:20:31 AM

Just check the latest CPU compatibilty list for that mobo at Foxconn....if its on d list, its good :) 

Just re-flash with the LATEST bios before swapping out d CPU :) 
m
l
a b à CPUs
July 12, 2012 2:22:35 AM

You should be fine. The board supports AM3 chips so that phenom should work fine
m
l
Related resources
July 12, 2012 2:23:19 AM

I didn't see it on there. It seems like all the old CPUs were on that list. But I have a CPU in my computer that isn't even on their list and it works just fine.
m
l
July 12, 2012 2:41:11 AM

avenseth12 said:
You should be fine. The board supports AM3 chips so that phenom should work fine

That's what I was assuming. I just wasn't sure if AM3 ready would only apply to some processors. I don't believe newegg accepts CPU returns. So I don't want to waste $100 dollars on something that doesn't work.
m
l

Best solution

a c 78 à CPUs
July 12, 2012 3:56:57 PM

It probably would boot actually, but from what I understand the CPU would run at something ridiculous like 800mhz. Either way, if the mobo doesn't support a 125 watt TDP (and that one does not), its a great way to shorten the life of what is already a fairly low quality board to begin with assuming it does work..
July 12, 2012 7:29:31 PM