Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Post Build Concerns

Last response: in Systems
March 29, 2012 2:09:51 AM

I have just completed my very first build, and after some troubleshooting have it up and running. :pt1cable: 

Now that the physical assembly is done, I have some post build questions to ask, keep in mind I am a newbie lol

Here is the build:

case: XCLIO Godspeed 747 Fully Black Finish
psu: Rosewill Green Series RG630-S12 630W Continuous @40°C,80 PLUS Certified
motherboard: ASUS P8H61-M LE CSM REV3 Intel 6 Series Motherboard
cpu: Intel Core i5-2400 Processor
hard-drive: Seagate ST3250312AS Barracuda 7200.12 250GB Hard Drive
RAM: Kingston HyperX Desktop Memory Kit - 8GB (2x 4GB)
gpu: XFX Radeon HD 6870 900M 1GB GDDR5 WITH Total War: Shogun 2 Game Download Coupon and AMD Dirt3 Game Download
disk drive: Sony Optiarc AD7280S-OB 24x DVDRW Drive
OP: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium 64BIT

1. While installing the CPU, after a smooth and proper placement into the socket with zero insertion force, there was a crunching or grinding metal on metal sound as I pushed the retention lever down into the locked position. I felt too scared to use that much force and constantly stopped to check why it was requiring so much effort. I was nervous about the creaking and whatnot. I discovered that the motherboard's retention bracket had scratched and slightly dented the two little pieces of metal sticking out the side of the CPU. In the end, I used considerable effort to get the job done. The CPU now runs at 29 to 31 degrees Celsius idle. Should I be concerned about the damage or it is only damaged in appearance? What are safe operating and idle/load temperatures for the i5-2400?

2. The CPU, according to CPU-Z runs at 1.5 GHz when I am surfing the web or going through my desktop yet it does not lag in the games I have tested so far. I am assuming this is automatic speed control depending on the workload or is it a built in feature of the motherboard?