Last response: in Graphics & Displays
January 23, 2012 9:03:40 PM

hi im new to computing so i require your help
currently im using a HP pavilion dv6 3006TX which has the following specs:

PROCESSOR: Intel Core i5-430M 2.26GHz, 3MB L3 cache
CHIPSET: Intel HM55 Express Chipset
MEMORY: 4096MB 1066MHz DDR3 (2 DIMM), 8GB Max SUPP
STORAGE: 500GB 7200 rpm
DISPLAY: 15.6" diag High-Definition LED HP Brightview Widescreen display (1366 x 768)
GRAPHICS: ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5650 switchable graphics with 1024MB DDR3 dedicated graphics
OPERATING SYSTEM: MS Win 7 Home Premium 64-bit

when playing bf3 im constantly getting fps lag- sometimes getting 10fps
im pretty sure i can get more out of it but i dont know how
i think i may have uninstalled some ATI/AMD software a while back (catalyst or something) which may be the cause
i redownloaded it but now it says my graphics hardware is not present so it has no effect

please help

thanks in advance
a b U Graphics card
January 23, 2012 11:25:28 PM

A Mobile HD5650 isn't a high-end card, even for a laptop. Fillrate is pretty low, and GDDR3 doesn't have all that high of bandwidth.
m
l
a c 88 U Graphics card
January 23, 2012 11:59:53 PM

Go to AMD website and download the latest Catalyst drivers there and do a clean install.
m
l
Related resources
January 24, 2012 11:15:46 AM

when i run the catalyst suite manager the following error comes up:

Uploaded with ImageShack.us
ive gone to control panel>device manager>display adapters>HD5650>update drivers and it says the latest drivers are installed
:( 
m
l
a b U Graphics card
January 24, 2012 11:40:52 AM