Sign-in / Sign-up
Your question
Solved

Is it possible to boot from a laptop drive in a desktop?

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Laptops
  • Desktops
  • Windows Vista
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
March 31, 2012 8:02:38 AM

I was wondering if there was a way that I could use my old laptop HDD with Vista instead of having to go out and either pirate Windows 7 or spend $100, since I am a student I have a tight budget and just wanted to ask for some help before I went out and might have ended up wasting my money on something that I didn't need to buy.

More about : boot laptop drive desktop

March 31, 2012 8:11:41 AM

Yes, the connector's size is the same as a 3.5" drive.
m
l
March 31, 2012 8:16:57 AM

Thank's for the quick response, I just wanted to check since I was reading a few articles and they were saying that it wasn't possible because it would be different hardware.
m
l
Related resources
March 31, 2012 8:32:41 AM

It's the same hardware. I have hooked up my dad's laptop drive inside a drive bay and connected it, and it works just fine.
m
l

Best solution

a b D Laptop
March 31, 2012 8:40:31 AM

The harddrive will work. The OS won't. The drivers will be wrong and I am sure its an OEM version and locked to the laptop, so wont activate.

If you are a student check with the school, mine always had a deal with Microsoft where you could buy Windows for 10 bucks from the university.
March 31, 2012 8:51:22 AM

Thanks for the help guys
m
l
March 31, 2012 8:51:41 AM

Best answer selected by underhill.
m
l
March 31, 2012 10:14:29 AM

The harddrive will work. The OS won't. The drivers will be wrong and I am sure its an OEM version and locked to the laptop, so wont activate.
m
l
November 20, 2013 2:32:29 PM