New build problems...or is it the buildER?

Jeff68

Distinguished
Apr 1, 2012
Hello,
I am very new at the computer building game and I seem to have bitten off more than I can chew.
I'm attempting to build a somewhat competent gaming system on a budget for my wife. I'll list the new components.

mobo- ASUS M5A78L-M LX PLUS
PSU Corsair GS600
CPU FX-4100 w/ Cooler Master V8 heatsink and fan
older Radeon HD 4550 graphics card
1 older LG sata cd/dvd drive
1 TB HDD formatted
1 500GB HDD (win xp serv pack 2 from old system
1 recently damaged and apparently unusable copy of Windows XP that I'm now using as a coaster for my coffee cup

All are installed in a new Antec case.

On system power up, everything behaves normally, posts, enters windows load screen, that annoying little blue bar starts to scroll and then stalls and reboots.

I'm at a loss as to what I need to do to get windows to load. I assume it has something to do with trying to load from the old Hard drive but unfortunately I now don't have an XP disc to put a fresh install on the 1 TB drive.

Please rescue my brain. It may be all that's left after my wife is done with me.

g-unit1111

Titan
1 500GB HDD (win xp serv pack 2 from old system

There's your problem right there - you're running an older installation of Windows on a new system. You absolutely have to run a clean format of your primary HD and install a fresh copy of Windows every single time you build a new system. The reason being is that the drivers that were used on the existing installation - Windows will look for every time. You can go through the registry and clean out the existing driver installations line by line but that's a whole other can of worms when opened and could seriously damage your OS.

g-unit1111

Titan