undeadkingpr

Honorable
Apr 2, 2012
hi,
So I am a system builder and make a tidy some every year on the side constructing PCs.
On a computer I currently have under-construction for a client I have a massive problem.
When I attempt to power on the system, it does nothing. No BIOS, no fans turning, just nothing.
So, I have stripped down the system to a PSU that I know works, the motherboard, the CPU, and one stick of good RAM.
Since I know the PSU, RAM work I figure the problem must be in the motherboard or the CPU.
They are a 3930K and an ASUS p9x79-both brand new.
Is my only recourse to RMA them both and pray for the best?
The only explanation other than one of the two or both being DOA that I can think of is that I have switched out the CPU clamp and I do not know if the new X79 has some sort of sensor to detect how firmly the CPU is planted and prevents the computer from spinning up if it is not (sounds unlikely).
Forgot to mention, the speaker on the front panel connectors doesn't even give me an error code/sequence of beeps.
Any ideas? If I can't fix this today, I'm RMAing both parts.
CC

most time on no power with fans spin is you forgot to plug in power to a video card or the mb. most new mb have short and over heat protection. also check that the cmos jumper is in the right postion from the factory. if they are take the mb out of the case and lay it on the anti static bad with the ps and ram and see if it post with a video cmos beep code failure. sometime when putting the mn in a case you use the wrong screws or forget a stand off and the mb shorts out to the tray or the rear case sheild. two other things to check is the case power and reset swtiches in the right places and are they working. ie on the right headers. a stuck reset switch or bad power swtich wont let a new ps turn on the mb. check all cables to see you did not miss a pin or bend one.

87ninefiveone

Distinguished
Oct 16, 2011

NO! Non-conductive surfaces only. Preferrably wood.