Tom's Hardware > Forum > Digital Camera > Digital Camera General > Adobe PS CS Security problem

Adobe PS CS Security problem

Forum Digital Camera : Digital Camera General - Adobe PS CS Security problem

Tom's Hardware: Over 1.4 million members in 6 different countries available to answer all your high-tech questions. Sign up now! Its free!
Word :    Username :           
 

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)

 

From the Adobe website:

"Adobe License Management Service update

This update addresses a potential vulnerability in the Adobe License
Management Service, which is installed with various Adobe products
that require product activation. It affects only computers running
Windows. [...]

The vulnerability exists due to a flaw in the installation of the
License Management Service, which can lead to an unauthorized person
gaining access to the user's computer. The unauthorized person can
exploit this vulnerability to run a program with administrator
privileges."

Full advisory + patch:
http://www.adobe.com/support/downl [...] ftpID=2955
--
- gisle hannemyr [ gisle{at}hannemyr.no - http://folk.uio.no/gisle/ ]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kodak DCS460, Canon Powershot G5, Olympus 2020Z
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sponsored Links
Register or log in to remove.

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)

 

"Gisle Hannemyr" <gisle+news@ifi.uio.no> wrote in message
news:q5y89c2140.fsf@kuusi.ifi.uio.no...
> From the Adobe website:
>
> "Adobe License Management Service update
SNIP

> Full advisory + patch:
> http://www.adobe.com/support/downl [...] ftpID=2955

Good catch. It doesn't apply to CS2, that was already fixed/changed:
http://www.adobe.com/support/techdocs/331688.html

Bart

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)

 

I would never download something that did not come directly from Adobe. This
sounds like a virus or worm program could result if this link were clicked.
Craig Flory

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)

 

"Craig Flory" <floryphotog@mindspring.com> writes:
> I would never download something that did not come directly from
> Adobe. This sounds like a virus or worm program could result if this
> link were clicked.

Did you look at the URL? This /is/ directly from Adobe.
--
- gisle hannemyr [ gisle{at}hannemyr.no - http://folk.uio.no/gisle/ ]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Kodak DCS460, Canon Powershot G5, Olympus 2020Z
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reply to Anonymous

Archived from groups: rec.photo.digital (More info?)

 

"Craig Flory" <floryphotog@mindspring.com> writes:

> I would never download something that did not come directly from Adobe. This
> sounds like a virus or worm program could result if this link were clicked.

Since you snipped the quote, I can't tell what you think you're on
about; but the URL posted in the message you're responding to *is* at
Adobe.
--
David Dyer-Bennet, <mailto:dd-b@dd-b.net>, <http://www.dd-b.net/dd-b/>
RKBA: <http://noguns-nomoney.com/> <http://www.dd-b.net/carry/>
Pics: <http://dd-b.lighthunters.net/> <http://www.dd-b.net/dd-b/SnapshotAlbum/>
Dragaera/Steven Brust: <http://dragaera.info/>

Reply to Anonymous
Tom's Hardware > Forum > Digital Camera > Digital Camera General > Adobe PS CS Security problem
Go to:

There are 1410 identified and unidentified users. To see the list of identified users, Click here.

Please mind

You are about to answer a thread that has been inactive for more than 6 months.
If you still wish to proceed, please ensure that your posting is original and does not duplicate or overlap any prior responses to this thread.

Add a reply Cancel
Sponsored links
  • Ask the community now
  • Publish
Ad
Related Content
They won a badge
Join us in greeting them