LCD Screen for Graphic Design use

MaryJ

Distinguished
Nov 29, 2006
hi there

I want to purchase a new lcd screen and am unsure of where to start!

I'm a professional graphic designer so whatever I go for, it needs to be really good at colour accuracy. I was thinking of going for an apple monitor, though I actually use a pc.

I would love to hear your advice!

Thanks!

Mary

Fulmar

Distinguished
Oct 23, 2006
I'm a fellow graphic designer and I've used several different screen. The Apple LCDs are very nice; however, they are expensive and IMHO are not worth it.

At work I use a 19" widescreen Dell (forget the model #, its the current model the Dell website). The color may not be as rich (still excellent though), but the clairty of pixels and font is just the same. Reponse time, contrast all are about the same with the Dell counterpart.

At home I use a 17" Hercules Prophetview 920Pro. $500+ 3 years ago as it was one of the best 17" LCDs out there. It's still a good monitor, but for half the price and a bigger screen the Dells are great step forward with my home LCD.

I highly recommend a widescreen monitor. Makes it a breeze to have multiple windows open etc.

Since color accuracy is very important in your perfession I recommend not going for those cheaper LCDs since they are most likely 6-bit LCDs. 8-bit LCDs are what you are looking for.