Budget gaming - comments before ordering appreciated!

Nesher

Honorable
Feb 22, 2012
Hello!

I am planning a new build, with gaming as the main focus (possible games include Skyrim, BF3 and a bunch of older titles). Besides gaming, I will use it for basic stuff like browsing the web, writing stuff and doing excel-sheets. I am an engineer, so there is a possbility that sometime in the future I will be doing CAD with it. I am from Finland, and will be ordering from local stores. I will not be OC'ing, as you might tell from the parts...

I will most probably order within a week or two.

Chassi: Bitfenix Merc Alpha
PSU: XFX 550 W Core Edition
MB: AsRock H61M/U3S3
GPU: Sapphire 7850
CPU: i3-2120
RAM: 1x4 GB Corsair 4GB Intel/AMD PC3-10666, 1333MHz, 1x240 DIMM
HDD: Western Digital Caviar SE 500GB 7200rpm 16MB SATA-2
Optical: Sony Optiarc 24X DVD-RW DL
Cooling: Coolermaster 120 mm Sickleflow

Obviously the main thing I'm worried about is bottlenecks and the balance of the build. I know it isn't the most balanced build in the word, and sure I would like to have a Z68, an SSD, and some other stuff, but they simply wont fit my budget. I could go up to a i5-2400, but that would mean dropping the 7850 and instead going for a 6870, and I think I will be better served by the current combination for gaming. Comments on this issue? The reason I'm going for a single-stick RAM is to be able to upgrade to 8 GB later on, by only buying a second stick. Regarding the PSU I could get a Corsair CX 500 for sligthly less, but reading the specs it seems like the XFX is a better alternative.

And obviously, are there any pieces I have picked that doesn't fit together? :D

AdrianPerry

Distinguished
Very nice build there tbh! One of the few budget builds I approve of!

Just one little tiny thing - get Dual Channel RAM. Either 2x2GB, or 2x4GB but make sure its Dual Channel not a single stick.