$500-$1000 Gaming/Photo Editing Computer

eguzki

Honorable
Apr 5, 2012
This is my first time building a PC. And after much research this is what I came up with. I simply wanted some input from the fine minds on this forum.

Approximate Purchase Date: By the End of the month (April 30th ish)

Budget Range: $500 to $1000 including monitor and keyboard/mouse (after rebates)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, Photo Editing and Everyday use (surfing the web, word processing, etc)

Parts Not Required: I need the whole deal

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.ca

Parts Preferences: The only preference is an AMD processor simply because they generally are a bit cheaper and deliver enough power

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 1680x1050 or 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I'm looking for a mid-range budget PC. I will probably run Linux Mint 12 because I hate dishing out an extra $100+ when I don't have to. This does bring a few issues in terms of gaming however I have had success running games in Linux before but at a reduced FPS. I'm not sure what I should upgrade (CPU or GPU) to increase the FPS since it could be caused by the increased demand of the emulator.

Regardless here is the build thus far:

Wish List:
http://secure.newegg.ca/WishList/PublicWishDetail.aspx?WishListNumber=20038926

Components
CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 645
GPU: HIS H679F1GD Radeon HD 6790 1GB 256-bit
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-M68MT-S2 AM3+ NVIDIA GeForce 7025/nForce 630a chipset Micro ATX AMD Motherboard
RAM: Wintec One 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model 3OH16009U9H-8GK
SSD: Patriot Torqx 2 PT232GS25SSDR 2.5" 32GB SATA II Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Green WD10EADS 1TB 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Case: IN WIN Dragon Slayer Black 0.6mm SECC MicroATX Mini Tower Computer Case