Status
Not open for further replies.

hoglan71

Distinguished
Jan 29, 2012
Hello,

I'm new to the pc graphic card world as far as understanding the complete infrastructure computing power & architecture I'm still catching on. So I bought a used desktop which had a ATI x1350/1550 series card. Well then I wanted to upgrade to bought a Radeon 5450 which was an improvement. Then I picked up a Galaxy Nividia GT 430 and was blown away at first. So then my final purchase was EVGA GTX 275 oc version. Well obviously the gtx is faster than the 430 but it only supports DirectX 10 did I make a mistake?

Solution
Hi hoglan,

Upgrading the graphics card can be a difficult decision. There are many factors involved in that decision such as:

Is the CPU powerful enough to not hold the new GPU back?
Is the power supply adequate enough to power the new GPU?
Is the GPU overkill for the resolution of your monitor?

My advice is to post your full system specs: CPU, motherboard, ram, current GPU, power supply maker and wattage, monitor's native resolution, games you want to play (or apps you want to run), and the OS that you use.

Once you've collected and posted this info, people can give you advice on what graphics card will meet your needs.

An updated, general guide to purchasing graphics cards is here...
You are good.

Game designers want the maximum possible audience for their products, so they design them to run on the widest possible hardware.
While some performance and features might be available to directx11 code, it does not seem to be a requirement. In time, it may be.
So long as your games run well on the GTX275, you are good.

larkspur

Distinguished
Hi hoglan,

Upgrading the graphics card can be a difficult decision. There are many factors involved in that decision such as:

Is the CPU powerful enough to not hold the new GPU back?
Is the power supply adequate enough to power the new GPU?
Is the GPU overkill for the resolution of your monitor?