Help Please: 200-250$ limit, piecemeal computer

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Computer
  • Hewlett Packard
  • Systems
Last response: in Systems
April 6, 2012 10:35:45 AM

Hi there. I recently replaced the video card in my HP Pavillion 2007 (I know, I know) about a year ago with a cheap one which I knew I'd have to replace. I'm not a very wealthy person, and I just can't afford to spend a thousand dollars, or even 5-600 dollars at a time on a computer. The HP was really expensive, and I was a big rookie at the time and never knew I could build my own computer. Anyway, I've learned now, and basically I'm trying to get started.

I have about 200-250 dollars, but I'd like to try and keep it near 200 more. 250 is the limit. Period. Suggesting I get something more expensive is just pointless; I just can't afford it at the moment.

My situation is somewhat urgent as well; my video card fan is messed up and the card gets quite hot without a huge room fan on it while gaming. It's not dangerously hot, but it does burn up a lot of extra electricity to run the fan.

So: My computer:

2007 model HP Pavillion

Core 2 Quad Q6600 2.4GHz
No-name 300w power supply (TOP MOUNTED)
HP Pavillion computer case
ASUS no-name motherboard for HP Pavillion brand, 1 PCI-E 2.0 slot, 4 DDR2 ram slots. Motherboard has a 4 pin ATX (the square one I think) power cord as well.
4GB DDR2 Ram

Basically, it's a $#!t computer. I know that. It's held together by duct tape and a prayer at this point. I don't have a lot of money to go out and replace a whole computer with a gaming rig, nor do I want to blow 3-400 bucks on a crap computer that doesn't do what I need but "works". Essentially, for what I need it for, the CPU is fine. I've not even come close to maxing it out. As well, the Hard Drive and DVD drive do not need replacing either. I can transfer them to the new computer. What I need to replace are the following:

-Graphics Card
-Power Supply