Trouble POSTing my computer build (continued)

undeadkingpr

Honorable
Apr 2, 2012
Ok, sorry but I could not find my old thread from a week ago so I made a new one (any admin feel free to merge the threads).
I am a system builder semi-professionally so I have at least a moderate degree of knowledge. I am building a $3500 computer for a client right now with an ASUS p9x79 motherboard, Intel 3930K CPU. It has been two weeks now since he ordered it so I am crazily trying to finish this build.

From Old Thread-
When I got all the parts last week and installed them, the computer did not POST. The fans spin for 1/10th of a second before dying. I get no message from the motherboard speaker and nothing I do fixes the problem. Even removing the motherboard from the case gives the same problem. I can not get the PSU to output that 1/10th of a second of power between attempts unless I turn it off and on or unplug it to reset the breaker. I know the PSU, RAM, Video card are good in the system so I presume the problem lies in the motherboard, CPU. Upon recommendation, I RMA the motherboard.

New-
I got the RMA board and hooked it up on my wooden workbench. Success! The computer gets to BIOS perfectly and I presume all is well-FOOLISH ME! I install the board in the case and plug in everything-same problem. 1/10th of a second of power, dead. So I hank the board out again and put it on the bench exactly as it was when I first bread-boarded it-same problem now. I can see the CPU light go red for 1/10th a second, fans spin, dies. So, at this point (around 3am last night) I proceed to pound myself in the head repeatedly against the wall to the point of a near-concussion before going to bead.