Sign in with
Your question

Building a system

Last response: in Components
July 20, 2012 12:39:02 AM

Hi all,

I am looking for some help on building my new PC, specifically whether the components i have chosen are ok. Most of you guys seem to know what you are talking about so i would appreciate any response :) 

I have never built a PC before due to mainly being a console gamer however there are now too many games i'd like to play on PC and have decided to fork out some cash on a new system and sell my crappy laptop. I would build it myself but i have very limited knowledge of computer parts and how to construct a PC so i have opted to build the PC through a website which will put it all together for me (Yes i know this costs more but i really don't know what i'm doing)

Anyways without rambling on, here is a list of the main components i have put together on 'computerplanet.co.uk';

CPU = Intel i5 2500K - (4 x 3.3 GHZ) - Sandy Bridge
CPU Heatsink = Corsair Hydro Series H60 V2 (Advanced Liquid Cooling)
Memory = Corsair 8GB XMS3 PC3-12800 1600MHz (2x4GB) (DDR3)
Graphics Card = ATI Radeon HD 7970 - 3 GB - (PCI-E)
Motherboard = Gigabyte GA-Z77-D3H (Intel Z77) - VGA/DVI/HDMI
Sound Card = Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Xtreme Audio (PCI-E)
Networking = Edimax Wireless LAN 300Mbps (USB)
Power Supply = Cooler Master 750W PSU
CPU Compound = Standard CPU Compound Supplied With Heatsink
Hard Drive = 1 TB SATA-III HDD 7200 RPM 32MB
Optical Drive = Samsung 22x DVD Re-Writer/Reader /- RW- Black - (SATA)

Basically i want to know if this system will be good enough to play most current games like Battlefield 3, Crysis 2, Metro etc and also the new upcoming versions like crysis 3 and metro: last light

The website tells me all these components are compatible but i have no idea really. is that the right power supply? do i need to have the liquid cooling? or will the bog standard cooler be efficient? The case does have three fans in it also if that makes any difference