Compatibility of Parts

Cherokee Jack

Honorable
Apr 6, 2012
Hello, I am trying to build my own computer and this is my first time so I need some help. I want it to be a gaming computer that can also do media editing/viewing well. My budget is around $800 for the parts but I am pretty flexible. This is what I have come up with so far:

Processor: Core i5 2500K LGA 1155 Boxed Processor

Graphics Card: GeForce GTX 560 Ti 1024MB GDDR5 PCIe 2.0 x16 Video Card

Hard Drive: Seagate Barracuda 1TB 7200RPM 64MB

Motherboard: P8Z68-V LX LGA 1155 Z68 ATX Intel

Power Supply: OCZ 600W ATX12V / EPS12V Power Supply

Case: Not sure yet, something between $50-100 with sufficient cooling and sufficient number of drives, ATX, not ridiculous looking. Possibly: AZZA Toledo 301 (CSAZ-301) Black SECC Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case

Memory: 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3-1600 (PC3-12800) CL9 U-DIMM Desktop Memory Kit

Optical Drive: LG 22X Super-Multi DVD Burner 22X Black SATA Model GH22NS90B

First of all I want to make sure that all of the parts are compatible with each other. I am also planning on dual booting windows and linux so I want to know if all the parts are compatible with that.

Second, I want to know if there is anything I can change that might make it better by spending a little bit more or make it cheaper while not making it much worse.

I am not sure if there is enough ports on the motherboard but I want it to be SLI compatible and have slots for what I have above, and a network card, and maybe better/more memory cards for the future.

Also, I am torn between the i5 2500K and the i5 2500. The over-clocking on the 2500K sounds nice but on Intel's website it says that the 2500 is better for dual-booting. Can the 2500K dual boot at all and if so is it as good as the 2500? And how important is over-clocking given my specs. I would like to do it but I am not sure how it will affect the power watts needed or the amount of cooling needed.