Thermaltake A2309 iCage in Antec P180?

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpencerL

Distinguished
Jun 5, 2006
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to fooling around with case mods and such, so please bear with me if I say something stupid. =)

I have an Antec P180, which has 4 x 5.25" drive bays. However, I really only need one of these bays, and have an opportunity to use the other three bays as extra 3.5" slots. I did some google research and found the following:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811999141

Reading the reviews, I am fairly confident that this iCage will fit into my case....with one possible exception. That is the possibility of the fan on the cage protruding out of the drive bays so far that the case door will not close. It is important to me that the case door closes because I sleep in the same room as the PC, and apparently the blue LED on the iCage can not be turned off (?).

If anyone out there has any insight as to how this iCage will work for my situation, I'd be grateful. Also, if there is a better option for me, I'd be happy to hear about it.

Thanks!

306maxi

Distinguished
Feb 7, 2006
Hey guys, I'm fairly new to fooling around with case mods and such, so please bear with me if I say something stupid. =)

I have an Antec P180, which has 4 x 5.25" drive bays. However, I really only need one of these bays, and have an opportunity to use the other three bays as extra 3.5" slots. I did some google research and found the following:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811999141

Reading the reviews, I am fairly confident that this iCage will fit into my case....with one possible exception. That is the possibility of the fan on the cage protruding out of the drive bays so far that the case door will not close. It is important to me that the case door closes because I sleep in the same room as the PC, and apparently the blue LED on the iCage can not be turned off (?).