Your question

Please Help With Video Card Upgrade HP6674y

Tags:
  • Graphics Cards
  • Graphics
  • Product
Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 1, 2012 7:11:29 PM

I've recently been looking online for a vid card to upgrade my HP6674y to be able to play more recent games such as Amnesia and esp. Battlefield 3 at decently high settings if not max. I've realized in looking this up that I am not tech savvy at all (don't understand computer lingo and such). I sought out the help of my friend who I would consider computer savvy and I've been told that to upgrade my rig I would only need to purchase a better video card and power supply. I apologize that I don't know which are the important specs to post here so here is a link that should have all of the information http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/document?docname=c02...

Everyone here seems very knowledgeable so I would like to please ask for some confirmation that I would not be wasting my money by upgrading. I'm someone who will look around for hours to find the best deal for my money, so my biggest fear is that I will spend $300+ and have it all be for nothing. I think it may be worth mentioning that I'm here because I'd like to switch from being a console gamer to PC but I'm just afraid I don't have the tech skills necessary to solve the various problems that may arise.

So to sum up my question, is it true that my hardware is recent enough that I will be OK to play newer games on high settings without having to upgrade anything except the graphics card and PSU? Thank you very much in advance for any help!!!

More about : video card upgrade hp6674y

a b U Graphics card
February 1, 2012 8:48:44 PM

Yes your x4 will be fine for gaming for now. You won't be able to play BF3 at max on Multiplayer with it though, that is a CPU hog (some people report 100% CPU usage on a 6-core Core i7 overclocked when in MP)