NAS/ HTPC combo?

kmkfan628

Honorable
Mar 18, 2012
Hi everyone,

Im quite new to building PC's and would really appreciate some advice on my second ground up build... just so you understand some context of the situation im a fulltime college student and living with my family and to date i havent had the "authority" in the past to play with/ optimize my fathers machines and unfortunately his pc knowledge is very limited to the old school. pata cables/drives, ddr2 ram, d805 cpu's and dare a say... a floppy drive lol (doesnt get use tho)

... with that said im currently working on a networking project in my house. so far i have been able to install gigabit connections in 3 rooms aside from the office where the modem/router is. my master plan is to be able to 1) eliminate our cable set top box for digital cable 2) be able to record live tv and strem DIGITAL cable/media to other rooms in the house 3) to rip dvd/BD to my soon to be built htpc and archive them there 4) and be able to backup my newly built main rig and other systems around the house there.

here is the components im looking at for this project, let me know what you think or ESPECIALLY if you would forsee any clearance/ heat issues as im using a very tight case.

case- moneual monCaso 312b
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811280014

motherboard- asus f1a75-m PRO
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131764

cpu- llano A8-3820
(i chose this processor because of the low TDP and im definitely going to try to go as low power consumption as possible.... originally had settled on the a8-3870k because hell its only like 30 bucks to have the unclocked version. would it be viable to choose this cpu and undervolt it to achieve similar power draw with better performace)

heatsink- coolermaster gemimII
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103100

tv tuner- ceton infinitv4
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16815706001