Easiest and quietist CPU cooler?

d4l3

Honorable
Jul 20, 2012
My specs:

CPU: AMD Athlon II x4 640
MB: Gigabyte 77OT-USB3

I'm looking for a new cpu cooler as my current one is extreamly loud and temps go to 60's under load. I'm new to the hardware stuff so I just want an easy to install cpu cooler, one where I can take out the old one and just clip in the new one. Also, would I have to get new thermal paste and how would I do that?

drums101

Distinguished
I know that you said you wanted a cooler that you can just clip in but those are sucky to deal with and sometimes dont last long (the clips/pins that hold it onto the mobo)....here is a cooler that is cheap and works really freaking good imo

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835103065

it comes with directions but if you need help on installing it we can help....the only thing you gotta think about is; does your current case have enough room for this?

its a great cooler keeps cpus really cool and runs very quiet

oh and it comes with thermal paste

cliffro

Distinguished
Aug 30, 2007
Former user of a Hyper 212+ here, the instructions suck. There is a youtube video from Coolermaster that shows most of the install process, that is much more informational than the instructions ever could be.

And a nice walkthrough here http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum/air-cooling/21525-coolermaster-hyper-212-plus-amd-installation-clearance.html

I read that thread and watched the video when I was installing it in both my intel and AMD systems(went from Intel to AMD when I had it)

Only if your case doesn't have a cutout in the motherboard tray for installing coolers. And the push pin type coolers sort of work best when installed with the motherboard outside of the case due to the force needed to assure its inserted properly. Yes you will need to remove the old paste from the CPU. 90% Alcohol works best. CVS and Walgreen's both sell 90+% rubbing alcohol, most chain pharmacies should sell it.