Dvi Cable won't fit into graphics card - with picture

tracker45

Distinguished
Jan 23, 2012
see the 2 parts I have marked on this picture

my graphics card does not have them

I am just using my vga port instead

will it matter anyway ?? it won't make a performance difference anyway ?

24chze0.png

I don't understand, and I'm a computer technician...

Are you saying that you can't plug the DVI cable from your MONITOR into your GRAPHICS CARD's DVI output?

If you are saying that you have an older graphics card that only has a VGA output, and has no DVI output then you have to use the VGA output.

I personally can't tell the difference. In fact, I just had my sister's computer hooked up to my Dell 27" monitor using VGA and it worked just fine.

MKBL

Splendid
Nov 17, 2011
1. Your graphics card has only D-Sub port
2. Your graphics card has DVI port, but looks different. Instead of those 4-square holes, it has different hole cinfiguration there.

Which one does describe your situation correctly?

mavroxur

Distinguished
There are different kinds of DVI.

There's DVI-D (which doesn't have the four square holes around the flat blade torwards the end). This connector does NOT pass analog video, only digital

There's DVI-I (which DOES have the four square holes around the flat blade torwards the end). This connector can pass analog, digital, or both.

There's DVI-A (which DOES have the four square holes around the flat blade torwards the end, but is also missing several of the regular pins). This connector will only pass analog, not digital, but will plug into a DVI-I port.

There's also two flavors of DVI-D and DVI-I (single link vs dual link). The plugs will physically interchange, but resolution capabilities of single vs dual will prevent some resolutions from working.

I'm going to guess your video card has DVI-D ports, and your cable is DVI-I, which would prevent the cable from connecting to the card. You need to get a DVI-D cable.

tracker45

Distinguished