Change my motherboard? need help!

sushi1

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2012
Hey
Im close to ordering this gaming system but many people have said the i should change the motherboard. They say its not compatible with 3rd gen intel CPUs and that i should get a
z77 or h77 instead.
I don't really know what i should do as im very new to PC building and dont have alot more money to spend on this build. So far it is :

CPU: Intel Core i5 3450
Operating System: Microsoft Windows 7
Motherboard: Asus P8H61-M LE/USB3
RAM: 8GB DDR3 (2x 4GB)
Hard Drive: 500GB
Optical Drive: 24x
Graphics card: MSI GTX 560 Ti 1024MB DDR5 TWIN FROZR II
Internet: TP-Link Wireless-N150 PCIe card

Does my motherboard not work with the i5 3450? Or should i only get a different motherboard if i want to upgrade my CPU soon?
Im not looking to over clock and just want a motherboard that will work well for gaming. Currently im spending £47 on my motherboard and the z77 is £78 while the h77 is around £70. (at ebuyer)

If i don't need to change the motherboard that would be great but if i have to, i would find it great if you could link it for sale in the UK for around the cost of my current one. :)

Sorry for rambling and being a complete noob when it comes to building a PC

Lutfij

Titan
if overclocking - then no the above mobo isn't right for the job, if no overclocking even when your rig will seem to crawl to a standstill...then the H61 mobo fits the bill perfectly.

I mentioned overclocking because most of us here on Tom's don't spend alot of our earnings on changing out mobo's and cpu's...well until we have an urgent need to. Otherwise we try squeezing every bit of juice out of a machine until it's telltale signs of age show or when we think it's had enough.

Your call if you're someone who spends all his money changing everything and anything when something new is round the corner.

my 2 cents :)

sushi1

Distinguished
Feb 10, 2012