Sign in with
Your question

I'm having some really strange screen issues

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 3, 2012 2:36:04 PM

Gentlemen (and ladies),

I bought an iBuyPower 923i just a few months ago and I'm already starting to have display issues. If I'm merely browsing the internet or working, everything is fine. However the moment I play a video or game this happens:

http://youtu.be/LXpW1-PeI6c

Please excuse the background noise in the video; I was printing labels.

If I play a game for longer than 20 minutes the screen will go completely blank (or display vertical lines) and become unresponsive.

Here's my graphics card information:

http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/12/02/03/ben.png

Someone on another forum had a similar issue and it was recommended that they flash their vbios or update their motherboard chipset drivers. But I have no experience with either so I'm not sure if that's a good idea.

Edit:

Here's some more info on my computer if it helps:

General Spec
Brand
iBUYPOWER
Model
Gamer EXTREME 923i
Processor
Intel Core i5-2320 3.0GHz 64 bit Quad-Core Processor
Cache Per Processor
6MB L3 Cache
Memory
8GB
Hard Drive
1TB
Optical Drive 1
24X DL DVD+/-RW Drive
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 6770 1GB
Audio
8 Channels
Power Supply
600W
Operating System
Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit

More about : strange screen issues

a c 228 U Graphics card
February 3, 2012 3:18:59 PM

Heat and/or power issues typically cause these problems. What make and model of power supply is installed in your rig? Also, are you measuring your system temperatures (CPU and GPU)? If so, what are your idle and loaded temperatures?
m
l
a c 175 U Graphics card
February 3, 2012 3:52:39 PM

Seems like overheating or something failing perhaps.
m
l
Related resources
February 3, 2012 4:10:15 PM

Thanks for the response! I don't believe it's an overheating issue. When idle, my fan never really goes over 40% and my GPU temperature is around 40 degrees Celsius (which I think is normal).