$2500usd - Digital Artist PC

ArmoredGorilla

Honorable
Apr 11, 2012
Hey guys, I am a game artist working mostly in 2D but now expanding into 3D as well. I was hoping to get some advice on building a suitable rig for my needs. Thanks very much for reading and I'd really appreciate your thoughts.

Approximate Purchase Date:
Within the next 6 months. (sorry, I realize that is a huge time span).

Budget Range:
$2000 - $3000 usd. I'm basically aiming for around $2000, but willing to go higher for truly worthwhile returns on my investment. I'd say my upper cap is $3000.

System Usage from Most to Least Important:
-Game and Film production art. Software priority for the foreseeable future will be 1) Photoshop, 2) Zbrush, 3) Maya, and 4) a high-quality rendering package like Maxwell, V-Ray, Mentalray, or the like, and 5) Sketchup. I will need to manage high-res 2D images as well as high poly digital sculpts. Will also need the ability to output a quality render now and again.
-If it makes a difference, I will probably NOT be animating much and will probably NOT be editing high-res video. I am more about high-poly modelling/sculpting and high-res 2D painting.
-Also, I will probably NOT be gaming much either.
-Other functions will be basic computing stuff: Web surfing, word processor, spreadsheets, an occasional movie, etc. and also transferring large files to and from clients.

Parts Not Required:
I will not need Monitor, Mouse, Keyboard, Printer, Scanner, Graphics Tablet, Speakers.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts:
Doesn't really matter tbh - Newegg I suppose? Just want best bang for the buck, and some kind of support/service or a warranty if possible.

USA, in either New York City or Los Angeles

Parts Preferences:
Brands don't particularly matter. I am leaning towards Intel CPUs over AMD though.

Overclocking: