Sign in with
Your question

New Computer Build

Last response: in Systems
April 12, 2012 9:10:10 PM

Hey guys,

this is my first time attempting to build a computer. So ive done my homework :)  and come up with a nice build - and hoping it works - will be in my budget:

Case: Xigmatex asgard III

Power supply: Corsair 500 Watt CX500 V2 (sufficient?)(80 plus)

Motherboard: Asus M5A78L-M/USB3

Proccesor: AMD Quad Core Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition

I already have some RAM, Hard drive and Optical drive which i can re-use. Just a quick question with the Graphics card. So i'm looking at the Asus GeForce GTX 550 Ti 1GB (directcu) - but there are a couple of different factory overclocks. So, should i pay extra for factory overclock, or just overclock them myself - it doesn't look to hard...?

Also, anyone recomend any monitors, because i do have an old one, but i want to take advantage of my new hardware. Otherwise, is it all compatible, and are there any bottlenecks?

Much appreciated, thanks!

Extra Info: I am building this in the UK

More about : computer build

April 12, 2012 9:31:19 PM

500W is plenty for an average system. You won't have a lot of room to upgrade, but it will power a basic system with no trouble.

As far as factory overclocking, it's kind of a mixed bag. By paying the extra for a factory overclocked card, you get a guarantee of some minimum level of overclockability. Often these overclocks are very modest, so this isn't exactly compelling. The more interesting thing about factory overclocked cards is that they frequently come with upgraded coolers.

I went for the factory overclocked MSI Twin Frozr III R6950 not for the overclock, but for the awesome fan it comes with. Aftermarket GPU coolers can be pretty expensive, and overclocked cards get really hot. By paying a little bit more up front, I was able to overclock my card to hell and back, but keep it at a chilly 70C under full load while still whisper quiet.
April 13, 2012 9:31:28 AM