Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Case Airflow Advice

Last response: in Components
July 26, 2012 12:15:43 AM

Hey everyone,

I have a Cooler Master HAF XM case and I was wondering what advice you would give as far as airflow through the system. (eg. Front - air into case, Top - air out of case, etc.)

There is a 200mm fan on the front, 200mm fan on top, and a 140mm on the back. I can add another 200mm on top and a 200mm on the side of the case. Cooler Master HAF XM Cooling

I'll only be running one EVGA 670 FTW and i5-3570k with Hyper 212 Evo.

More about : case airflow advice

a c 164 ) Power supply
July 26, 2012 12:29:06 AM

front and side - intake
top and rear - exhaust

frankly the stock fans in your case provide plenty of airflow and the extra fans added may do more harm in interrupting airflow then helping in cooling
a c 667 ) Power supply
July 26, 2012 12:30:46 AM

Front in, top and back out. It is not necessary to add a side fan but if you do it goes in.
Related resources
July 26, 2012 1:50:35 AM

rolli59 said:
Front in, top and back out. It is not necessary to add a side fan but if you do it goes in.

I was told that front in and then side, top, back all out.... I didn't notice a difference in temperature when I switched it from pulling in to pushing out.

Best solution

a c 667 ) Power supply
July 26, 2012 1:59:10 AM

bobusboy said:
I was told that front in and then side, top, back all out.... I didn't notice a difference in temperature when I switched it from pulling in to pushing out.

The side fan if pulling out will rob GPU and CPU of fresh air from the front. Couple of good reads http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/cooling-air-pressur...
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/cooling-airflow-hea...
July 26, 2012 2:05:16 AM

you have a CM HAF case. what more do you want?? that thing was built for air flow. imo the stock fans are good enough
July 27, 2012 3:38:58 AM

What do you guys advise on the orientation of the CPU cooler?