vivicyde

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2012
Hello, I am not tech savvy AT ALL.

So I bought skyrim recently and it kept crashing. I assumed it was just the new game, but my Skyrim STILL crashes, and I've recently discovered that now ALL my games do, and all of them in the same way. I'll be playing, then the screen goes black for 2-3 seconds, (sometimes the game recovers, sometimes not) and then it just takes me straight to desktop. I get a popup saying something has stopped working and has recovered, and I'm trying to find the exact message for you guys so that you can help me, but now that I actually WANT a game to crash, none of them seem to cooperate -_-

Here are my specs

Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit

Processor: AMD Phenom(tm) II X4 965 Processor 3.40GHz

RAM: 4 Gigabytes

Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 275

deadlockedworld

Distinguished
Does this happen more during the most graphic intense gaming, or does it seem unrelated to the intensity (and length of time) of the play?

Do you have adequate cooling? It might be worth downloading coretemp and using your nvidia software to monitor temps in both CPU and GPU.

Also - what kind of power supply is running this rig?

vivicyde

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2012
I believe it tends to happen more during the most graphic intensive areas... Like in Skyrim, it usually happens when I'm in huge wilderness areas.

I'm not sure if this helps, but on the side of my power supply it says "ECO-ELEMENT 750W High Efficiency PSU."

AC Input 100-240 V 10 A 50/60Hz

DC Output +3.3V/25A,+5V/25A, +12V1/30A, +12V2/30A, -12V/0.3A, +5Vsb/2.5A Total 750W

If your temps check out i say its your psu. Generix psus tend to not output the power they claim and.also break down faster

vivicyde

Distinguished
Feb 6, 2012
Core temp and MSi Afterburner are confusing.

Core temp says at the bottom,
Temperature Readings:
Tj.Max: 79*C
CPU#0: 47*C Min 45*C Max 52*C

(Do you need more information?)

MSi Afterburner says on the side,

GPU temperature, *C

Fan speed, %