Sign in with
Your question

So what do you think of this guys?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
a c 193 U Graphics card
February 7, 2012 3:36:13 AM

Hey community,

So I am helping out a couple of friends by buying them a few new parts. Some they are going to pay me back for, some are out of generosity.

The information on their rigs is hard to get, since they are both prebuilt, but I did what I can.

The first one is a Gateway
It has a Pentium D 915 dual-core at 2.8GHz with 1GB of RAM, that is going to be upgraded.

On Tigerdirect I bought a GTS250 for it, and I have a CoolerMaster 500W power supply lying around that I will use on it. I was wondering with more RAM if it would be worthwhile to upgrade it to 3 or 4GB. We're playing simple games such as LoL, nothing insane like BF3. Its for LANs just in case.

The other computer is an unknown brand
It has a Pentium 4 single-core at I think 3.2GHz with 3.5GB of RAM.

On Tigerdirect I bought a Radeon 5570 and was making sure that the processor would not bottleneck the card. It is the DDR3 model. I wouldn't think it would, but I want to post here to make sure it does not. This one will also be playing LoL, but at whatever graphics.

Also, I would like some criticism on my 3 rigs if you guys would. If not that's cool. I'm trying to learn since this is what I want to study to go to college for. I am pretty good at this stuff (my friends constantly ask me to upgrade and fix their stuff) but I would like some criticism. Especially the third rig, since I am making sure and learning about bottlenecks and stuff.

Thanks Tom's Community, you guys are like the best. I always come here first for my problems.
-Gunner

More about : guys

a b U Graphics card
February 7, 2012 3:52:38 AM

I only see 2 rigs listed...