Your question

~$750-$800 New Build First Time Advice

Tags:
  • New Build
  • Systems
  • Product
Last response: in Systems
April 15, 2012 5:32:15 PM

Hey everyone. Great website and forum here. I have found answers to most of my questions without asking. I have put together the following potential build and would like some feedback from everyone. This build is pretty much my max for my budget so I can't really go anymore expensive. I am looking for the computer to be a great all around computer that I will also do some gaming with like Call of Duty etc. I am not interested in crossfire or SLI yet and probably not anytime soon but I thought I should get a motherboard where I am able to in case I decide to do it. I also will not be overclocking right away either since I haven't educated myself fully on the topic and don't have an aftermarket cooler in my build but like the option of doing it in the future. Thanks again everyone. This is my first time posting so hopefully I have followed the proper guideline that I read. Thanks once again!

Approximate Purchase Date: 1-2 weeks

Budget Range: ~$800

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, internet surfing, home billing, etc.

Parts Not Required: I currently have a keyboard, mouse, speakers and a monitor (however it is kind of old, its a 19 inch LG LCD Flatron. Not sure of the specs but the little sticker I am looking at says 4ms, 1400:1 digital fine contrast. This monitor is temporary and after the build when I save up I plan on getting a widescreen monitor, maybe in the 21-22 inch range, HD.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg and maybe tigerdirect.com(tigerdiret seems to be a little mroe expensive though on most products compared to newegg.

Country: I am a resident of the USA. Florida to be specific.

Parts Preferences: I definitely want an intel CPU. I want a larger case but not necessarily something way too large than is practical.

Overclocking: Maybe

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe