Sign in with
Your question

Music/Sound Recording Build

Last response: in Systems
April 15, 2012 10:55:49 PM

I'm looking for advice on how to build a computer designed to handle advanced sound recording.

I built my own computer, so I have basic knowledge on builds.

I'm unsure as to where I should place the importance of hardware. I.E. Is CPU power the most important or is it ram?

What the computer needs to do:

Record guitar/piano/vocal snipets to send into online classes.

Achieve maximum benefits of Pro-tools + other sound recording software used in creating an album.

Beautiful/crisp/clean sound.

Large monitor if possible.

Have the ability to plug a m-audio panel into the computer, which will be used with a guitar, mic, etc.

The computer needs to have an option of upgrading it's video card later down the road.

I'm unsure if I've given a proper description of what is required. This build is for a friend and she is a little unclear as well.

Any advice or full build thoughts are greatly appreciated. Thanks...

April 16, 2012 11:56:02 AM

CPU - For this kind of build you are going to want a relatively decent processor. Most quad cores would be fine, an i5 would be great.

RAM - Plenty of RAM is good too, especially if you want to run a lot of VST's and/or do a lot of layering. I would aim for 8GB but if you can afford 16GB, go for it.

MOBO - Basically anything that fits your parts should be good here. It is nice to go for something with a Firewire port though because a lot of audio interfaces use firewire. USB 3 and SATA 3 are good to have too. You won't need to worry about onboard sound because you should be running an audio interface.

GPU - Basically any modern system is capable of adding a GPU so long as the PSU can handle it. I would try to avoid going for something too powerful though, to keep the noise down. You don't need one at all for audio anyway. It is nice if you want 2 monitors but Intel HD can handle that.