Connecting 10 HHD's to Seasonic X-400 FL

kevinsky11

Honorable
Jul 28, 2012
Hi, i have a question about connecting 10 or so hdd's to the Seasonic X-400 FL. I am really a newbie when it comes to hardware so please go easy on me :p

So I'm trying to build a home server, and I'm planning on putting in 10 (maybe even more in the future) HHD's. One of my goals is to build the server as quiet as possible, and therefore a selected the Seasonic X-400 FL. But the details on e.g. newegg say it has 5 sata connectors. A 3.5" HHD uses about ~10 watts right? Can I like split a couple of cables or something to get 10+ sata power connectors ? (the only other connected hardware will be my MB,cpu and RAM)

most people use the sata raid cages. when it take up 2 5 inch cd-rom bays and let you put 5 sata drives in one of these bays.
most people by the server chasis that lets them put 4 of these bays in like this IIIIIIII then you need one or two adaptec sata/sas cards. most people use the sas cards that have two to 4 ports on them and the sas to sata fan out cables. for the power supply use a larger one you can get a cosair 500w=600 unit onsale with a rebate right now. then order a few 4 pin molex to sata power adaptors. if the ps is modular one you should be able to order or find more sata cables for power. the problem is not the drive noise but the fan noise..trying to keep 10 drives cool in a small case.

zander1983

Distinguished
Mar 26, 2009

1st, your motherboard needs to support 10+ SATA connectors (or use a SATA expansion card.)
2nd, you will need a lot more power than the 400w, you will have to look close to 800W and above depending on your pc hardware.
3rd, what's your hardware specs?

As for the PSU, I'd go for something like this, the Corsair AH850 (12x SATA connectors) or go big with the AH1200 (16x SATA connectors)
AX850 - http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817139015&Tpk=corsair%20ax850