Sign in with
Your question

Will A Q9450 and 4GB DDR2 800 RAM Bottleneck 7850?

Last response: in CPUs
July 29, 2012 10:51:38 AM

Hi There guys,

As you can see from the thread title, I am wondering whether or not my Q9450 @ 2.7GHz and 4GB of DDR2 RAM will bottleneck the 7850 badly. I am a student with limited amounts of money and just recently bought a SSD which doesnt help my finance situation. I have enough for a 7850 which I can OC which gives me a very good card since they OC like crazy but how would my bottlenecking reduce my performance? I am getting a new card realistically only for BF3 and future games.
As I don't have much money, if the bottlenecking issues are quite bad then Ill have to wait for a completely new build in a few years as this is a Dell XPS 630i which I spent £700 on about 6 years ago. Since this is Dell, Im pretty sure with their motherboards they locked OCing which really screws me over.

So, how would the bottlenecking impact me? Would it just be a few FPS id lose since some people are saying the Q9450 is still a pretty solid CPU.

Thanks for the help.
a b à CPUs
July 29, 2012 11:18:48 AM

my last cpu was a q9400 i know u mentioned its a dell and all but i thought the xps were like the premium ones so look into overclocking in the bios if not u could probably pick up a cheap 775 board on ebay or something like that and oc. my q9400 was undervolted quite heavily (was high to begin with but cant remember exacts) but overclocked at the same time to 3.4 ish from stock 2.66 it didnt like going over 420mhz fsb without lots of volts and its not worth it for another 200mhz and then it run good with my 6950 which goes like a 7850 so if you can get some ocing i think you should be ok for bottlenecks for now
July 29, 2012 11:22:35 AM