Researching for a first time build

flembo

Honorable
Apr 17, 2012
Hi people,

I recently decided that enough is enough and I needed to ditch my ageing desktop, but looking around I noticed the stock pcs
Are now just overpriced and really not suited for anything other than surfing the net, so I did abit of research and I really want to do a self build baring in mind I have NEVER done this before :??:

I've joined this forum just to gather more info as obviously the more info the (hopefully) less I can mess up!
Please be gentle tho as unlike a lot of people on here it doesn't all come naturally to me!

I'm basically wanting to build a decent pc for photo editing and movie watching preferably blueray, I want a fast, responsive system but just don't know what to look for as everything I look at is aimed at gaming rigs and I'm no gamer, but this doesn't mean I don't want a fast responsive semi powerful machine :)

I know I haven't put loads of info down but as I say I'm just gathering things at the moment but I would be really interested in what people suggest and would be really appreciative of any help given. Oh and I'm in the uk if that helps and won't have a massive budget maybe 6-700 max

Thanks

ddan49

Honorable
Mar 13, 2012
It would really help us if you used the stickied thread at the top of this subforum: http://www.tomshardware.com/forum/261222-31-build-advice

Edit your original post by clicking at the bottom right where the pencil and sheet of paper are. You don't have to delete what you already wrote, just fill out the "form" that is in the stickied thread.

Anyway... do you ever edit video? How often? Are you open to overclocking? I'd recommend it, so it's what I'll go with. Here's what I would suggest:

CPU: i5-2500k OR IB i5-3570k (depends if it holds up to expectations when it goes retail on the 23rd)

Mobo: Extreme3 Gen3 OR Extreme4 Z77 (both ASRock, the former with 2500k, the latter with 3570k)