Sign in with
Your question

Is this HDTV a good upgrade from a PC Monitor?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 9, 2012 2:47:55 PM

Hi,

I'm looking to upgrade my monitor and am considering switching to a HDTV. My PC is a 3.0GHz (OC to 3.8GHz) Quad Core AMD Phenom II, 6GB RAM and Radeon HD6950 2GB so it should have enough juice to stretch to 1920x1080 at 32" (shouldn't it?). I'm thinking HDTV because they're far cheaper for the size, can be used as a TV (obviously!), and have built-in speakers so I can do away with my pc speakers that are a pain.

I use my PC for gaming mainly and for watching HD movies, so I just wanna be sure that I'm not going to lose performance. The contrast ratio and response time seem good but what about only 50Hz refresh rate? I'm no expert in these things! Can anyone see any issues with this HDTV as a PC monitor?

LG 32LK450U 32" HDTV (£279.99)

Television picture quality:

Full HD 1080p.
Integrated digital.
Freeview digital tuner.
32in widescreen TV.
Resolution 1920 x 1080 pixels.
Refresh rate 50Hz.
Contrast ratio 3000000:1.
Response time 0.3ms.
Viewing angle 178/178 degrees.

Connectivity:

3 HDMI sockets.
1 SCART socket.
PC input socket.
Component video socket.
Composite.
Optical connection.
S-Video socket.
AV socket (rear).
1 USB port.

Sound quality:

Dolby sound system.

Digital features:

Saorview approved to work with the Irish digital signal.
Digitally interactive.
Digital text.
Digital audio broadcasting (DAB).
Digital video broadcasting (DVB) subtitles available.
Auto setup.
Auto scan for new channels.
Now and next programme guide.
7 day electronic programme guide (EPG).
Top up TV compatible.
Audio description compatible.

Thanks,

Ecotox
a c 124 U Graphics card
a b C Monitor
February 9, 2012 2:59:10 PM

It will work...

But picture quality wise, monitors are almost always a lot better for the money.