1,500$+ gaming computer

Hello, I need some help before buying components for my new computer. I'm a complete novice so please forgive me. Converted is about 1200€.

Processor : i5 2500k
Graphic card: HD 7870, revérifier les benchmarks
Motherboard: MSI Z77A-G45 socket 1155
HD : Samsung F4 2To or Western Digital 2To Caviar Green ?
RAM : Kingston Valueram 2x4 Go DDR3
Monitor : Dell U2212HM
Case : Fractal R3 en promo
SSD : Crucial M4
PSU : Seasonic S12ii
Cooler : Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Keyboard: Razer BlackWidow
Optical : Lite On DVD Burner

What do you think about it ? Do you have any recommendation ? I have no idea about power supply, motherboard, SSD etc.

Approximate Purchase Date: this week
Budget Range: 1200-1500€ (1500$-1900$)
System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming (emulated arcade games from the 2000's, MMOs, high standard quality games) movies, internet, streaming
Parts Not Required: mouse, speakers
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: french sites : rue-mongallet.com, amazon.fr but any US site is fine
Parts Preferences: Intel CPU, Geforce graphic card
Overclocking: Maybe
SLI or Crossfire: Maybe
Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080, 2500x???
Additional Comments: I need a computer that can run the most games possible at 60 FPS, with high settings by preference.
8 answers Last reply
More about gaming computer
  1. i7 is too much for a gaming computer. stick with an i5.

I would choose either a 7970 or a gtx 680 if you could find one.

For a motherboard, check out the newer z77 motherboards. If you can, also wait for the ivy bridge processors to match the z77 MoBo. They were made for each other.

If you could afford it, a good brand for SSD's would either be intel or samsung. Also, ocz vertex 4 looks promising as they are not using sandforce controllers anymore.

Your PSU would depend mainly on what video card you choose and your plans in the future. Are you planning to overclock or SLI/Crossfire?