Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Z68, H67, or P67 = which will allow me to upgrade?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
February 9, 2012 8:25:40 PM

Ok, so I read that the Z68 chipset was the only option that allowed switchable graphics between on-processor GPU & Discrete GPU. My plan, as a college grad with nearly exhausted funds (but a dying computer needed for my livelihood), was to build a computer from components, starting from a pretty bare integrated solution but with the ability to upgrade graphics as Money trickles in. So, since I graduated early December, research says I can get a Z68 MoBo and use integrated graphics from the sandy bridge platform, then get a really nice $150-$250 graphics card and end up with a great computer experience. BUT, I basically read that the Virtru software (on release?) adds many operational hiccups, while often choosing the wrong graphics solution AND often increasing computer power draw! Doesn't sound worth it...

Has Virtru been updated and actually become something of utility, :bounce:  or...
Forget about using an integrated GPU later and boost my budget with a motherboard that will let me follow the original plan of integrated GPU now and discrete later? :sol:  Or...
Should I just budget for a cheapo low end discrete GPU now to throw away (possibly SLi?) later when replaced by a high end card? :pt1cable: 

Mention of which chipset to recommend would be awesome, kind forum people :)