Fx 8150 or i5 2320?

kangedde

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2011
hey people,

my friend is building a pc but can't choose between the fx 8150 or the i5 2320. there is now a 20 euro money back on the 8150 wich makes them both 160 euros.

he does a little gaming (just call of duty blackops and skyrim) and won't overclock
most other activity's on his pc are unpacking archives with winrar.

the rest of his specs are

hd7750
8gb 1333ddr3 ram
mobo not yet

oh and btw the fx 8120 is 147 eu and with the 20eu cash back only 127. is the fx 8120 maybe worth it more since he doesn't need alot out of his pc?

cheers

i5-2320. Call of Duty won't care so much about what CPU you use, but Skyrim can and does take pretty big performance hits with the FX's weaker cores. If hes not overclocking, especially the i5-2320 is going to be the better choice. The FX CPUs have to be overclocked heavily to be seriously considered.

kangedde

Distinguished
Oct 21, 2011
i'm not very good with computers so maybe a noob question but how big is the difference between 8120 and the 2320?

and is it in your opinion only worth it if you oc?

The problem with the FX CPUs is they're decent at some things and lousy at others. They have a very inconsistent record. In some things, like heavily threaded applications such as video editing, media encoding, it will outperform the 2320. But in almost everything else, like games, it will perform worse. The i5-2320 is just going to offer better balance all around.

And yes, in my opinion, you can pretty much forget it unless you OC. And even with an OC there are some things the FX will still not do as well at.