Sign in with
Your question

Building my first gaming computer

Last response: in Systems
April 17, 2012 7:43:26 PM

Hello fellow tomshardware.com users!

I am a college student who has always wanted to build a custom computer but never really had a chance to because of financial reasons.

Anyway, now that I have actually saved up some money I want to build a computer.

Actually, I saved up some money so that I could either 1) Build a computer and buy a monitor or 2) Buy an XBox 360 and a decent size low-tier brand TV.

I'm really not sure what I want between the two but I'm leaning towards building a computer.

I have talked to my friends who have built computers and they tell me not to spend more than $500~$600. Well, they built it a couple years ago with good deals on components such as rebates, etc. So I'm thinking it might be different now.

The thing is, I really don't play that much video games but whenever I do, I like to try different things. I'm really not a hardcore gamer and the only game I consistently play is StarCraft 2. I'm running it on my laptop with i5-2410 w/ integrated Intel HD 3000, and I really don't like the quality.

So I was thinking that if I want to build a computer, I want it to last for at least 3~4 years.

I have been looking up some CPUs on http://www.cpubenchmark.net and price on tigerdirect.com and newegg.com and I really don't know what to choose.

I was looking at i3-2120, i5-2500K, Phenom II X6 1045T, and FX-8120. The reviews and benchmark tests that have been done on AMD processors show that they are slightly inferior to Intel processors. Initially, I was thinking to go with AMD because of the price and the performance.

However, when I went to tomshardware and read the reviews on best gaming CPUs I found out that the top-notch AMD CPUs are not even as good as i3-2120, which is a lower tier processor for Intel i-series.